Who Depends On You? Webinar Series

 

 

Webinar Series

Disasters can happen anytime, anywhere. Are you prepared? And when it comes to emergencies, the more you do now will lessen the distress and damage you endure later.

Discover more about how you can prepare by watching one or all of the new “Who Depends on You” webinar series on this page.

In this webinar series, you will:

  • Learn the three steps to preparedness
  • Hear specific recommendations to be prepared for those who depend on you
  • Find resources that make it easy to take your next steps

Each class includes three steps to preparedness in addition to unique considerations for specific populations, including:

  • Disaster Readiness Plus Financial Preparedness
  • Disaster Preparedness: Children & pets
  • Disaster Preparedness: Older adults and individuals

Experts recommend being two weeks ready. Instructor Kiana Kabanje, Disaster Preparedness Outreach Program Manager for the Washington State Emergency Management Division, shares simple, straightforward steps to preparedness that will inspire you to begin today.

Start Learning & Exploring Now

 

 

 

Disasters affect everybody—which is why everybody needs to be prepared. Being prepared for disasters is simple but looks a little bit different for each person. This webinar discuss how to help older adults and individuals with limited mobility or functional needs be prepared for disasters.

Watch the Webinar Here: https://vimeo.com/430146506

Webinar Resources:

  1. We Prepare Everyday (video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGddWyoWkyg
  2. Disaster Prep for Seniors: https://www.ready.gov/seniors 
  3. Access & Functional Needs: https://www.caloes.ca.gov/Cal-OES-Divisions/Access-Functional-Needs   
  4. WA Independent Living Council: https://www.wasilc.org/
  5. Sign up for emergency alerts: www.mil.wa.gov/alerts   
  6. Disaster Preparedness: www.mil.wa.gov/preparedness
  7. Earthquake preparedness for people with disabilities: https://www.earthquakecountry.org/disability/
  8. Individuals with disabilities: https://www.ready.gov/disability 
  9. Planning tools for seniors & people with disabilities: https://preparingtogether.org/
  10. Partnership for Inclusive Disaster Strategies: https://disasterstrategies.org/
  11. CERT for All Abilities: https://www.fema.gov/media-library-data/1454700052408-12dde02fda68eb21ae006e1feb3e5111/CERT_annex_for_all_abilities_091615_508.pdf
  12. Article: Preparedness for Disability Community: https://disasterstrategies.org/emergency-preparedness-a-common-sense-measure-for-the-disability-community/
  13. Personal Support Network: https://www.redcross.org/get-help/how-to-prepare-for-emergencies/seniors.html
  14. Fire Safety for People with Disabilities: https://homesecuritylist.com/fire-safety-disabilities/
  15. Disability Preparedness Resources: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/disabilityandhealth/emergency-tools.html#for-pwd
  16. Smoke Alarms: https://www.getasmokealarm.org/
  17. Preparing Makes Sense: Disabilities: https://www.ready.gov/collection/disabilities
  18. Commuter Emergency Plan: https://www.ready.gov/sites/default/files/2020-03/commuter_emergency_plan.pdf
  19. Centers for Independent Living: https://www.wasilc.org/centers-for-independent-living 
  20. COVID-19 Information: www.coronavirus.wa.gov
  21. Disability-related issues: https://esd.wa.gov/gcde/covid-19
  22. COVID-19 Scams: https://coronavirus.wa.gov/what-you-need-know/coronavirus-scams

            

 

 

 

While you may be prepared for the next disaster, have you thought about who depends on you? This Webinar discusses how to prepare for your kids and pets to be disaster-ready.

Watch the Webinar Here: https://vimeo.com/424210771

Webinar Resources:

  1. Disaster Prep Pet Emergency Checklist: https://www.cdc.gov/healthypets/resources/disaster-prep-pet-emergency-checklist.pdf
  2. FEMA Prepare with Pedro Englishhttps://www.fema.gov/media-library-data/1529697264473-a5db8ca59fe98c307545e5fbe5aba460/FEMA_PrepareWithPedro_508.pdf

  3. FEMA Prepare with Pedro Spanishhttps://www.fema.gov/media-library-data/1553631495397-c5cdc6134c7560752754b2880edc49fe/FEMA-Book_508_P-2035.pdf

  4. Parent Checklist Poster: https://www.savethechildren.org/content/dam/usa/reports/emergency-prep/parent-checklist-poster.jpg

  5. Ready Freddie Comic Book: https://www.kingcounty.gov/depts/health/emergency-preparedness/~/media/depts/health/emergency-preparedness/documents/ready-freddie-comic-book.ashx

  6.  Disaster Kits: 2 Weeks Ready: https://mil.wa.gov/asset/5d9781f970b46
  7. How to prepare kids for emergencies: https://www.savethechildren.org/us/what-we-do/us-programs/disaster-relief-in-america/preparedness
  8. Sign up for emergency alerts: www.mil.wa.gov/alerts
  9. Washington Disaster Preparedness: www.mil.wa.gov/preparedness 
  10. Disaster Master & Build a Kit (games): https://www.ready.gov/kids/games
  11. Family Emergency Planning: https://www.ready.gov/kids/families
  12. Pets and Disasters: https://www.avma.org/resources/pet-owners/emergencycare/pets-and-disasters 
  13. Disaster Hero Computer Game: http://www.disasterhero.com/
  14.  CDC Ready Wrigley: https://www.cdc.gov/cpr/readywrigley/    
  15. Ready Kids: www.ready.gov/kids
  16. Ready Pets: https://www.ready.gov/pets
  17. Teaching kids about weather emergencies: https://nssl.noaa.gov/education/educators/ 
  18. Pre-K to 3rd Grade resources: https://rocketrules.org/
  19. Fire Safety Activities: http://www.sparky.org/activities 
  20. Kids Safety Videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLqnr_oVNReE1MJGEzK2PouLywz2fmA2WR
  21. Teaching Kids about Radiation: https://www.epa.gov/radtown
  22. Master of Disaster Youth Education:  https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/safety/emergency-preparedness-response-recovery/preparedbc/public-education-programs/master-of-disaster 

  23. Pet Rescue Stickers: https://secure.aspca.org/take-action/order-your-pet-safety-pack
  24. Shelter from the Storm – A Parent Guide: https://www.zerotothree.org/resources/1663-shelter-from-the-storm-a-parent-guide
  25. Disaster Checklist for Families: https://www.savethechildren.org/content/dam/usa/reports/emergency-prep/family-disaster-checklist.pdf
  26. Saving the Whole Family: https://ebusiness.avma.org/ProductCatalog/product.aspx?ID=140
  27. Pet Preparedness: https://www.aspca.org/pet-care/general-pet-care/disaster-preparedness  

     

  

 

 

Disasters happen and preparedness is everyone’s responsibility. This webinar discusses how you and your family can be prepared for disasters, and includes how to strengthen your financial preparedness for emergencies big and small.

Watch the Webinar Here: https://vimeo.com/424207170

Webinar Resources:

  1. Learn hazards: Geology Portal: www.dnr.wa.gov/geologyportal   
  2. Disaster Kits: 2 Weeks Ready: https://mil.wa.gov/asset/5d9781f970b46 
  3. How to Drop, Cover, and Hold On (PDF): https://www.shakeout.org/washington/downloads/WA_ShakeOut_Poster_DCHO.PDF
  4. Sign up for emergency alerts: www.mil.wa.gov/alerts 

5. Disaster Preparedness: www.mil.wa.gov/preparedness

6. Financial Preparedness: www.ready.gov/financialpreparedness

7. Emergency Financial First Aid Kit: https://www.ready.gov/sites/default/files/2020-03/ready_emergency-financial-first-aid-toolkit.pdf

8. Financial Disaster Toolkit: https://pueblo.gpo.gov/CFPBPubs/CFPBFileDnld.php?PubType=P&PubID=13036&httpGetPubID=0

9. Empowering Youth to Save: https://www.mycreditunion.gov/sites/default/static-files/empowering-youth-save-infographic.pdf 

10. Helping children develop money skills: Money as You Grow: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/consumer-tools/money-as-you-grow/

11. Financial resources for Youth: https://www.mymoney.gov/Pages/for-youth.aspx

12. Prepare your Finances for a Disaster (video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UzhpPN1SXUk

13. Neighborhood Preparedness: www.mil.wa.gov/myn

14. Teaching Kids to be Money Savvy: https://dfi.wa.gov/financial-education/money-savvy-videos

15. At Home Financial Education: https://dfi.wa.gov/financial-education/educators/at-home-materials

           


 

             



Webinar Instructor:

Kiana Kabanje is the Disaster Preparedness Outreach Program Manager for the Emergency Management Division of the Washington State Military Department.

She provides disaster preparedness public education through a variety of programs and publications such as Map Your Neighborhood (MYN), youth preparedness, the Great Washington Shakeout, and individual and community preparedness.

Her mission is to build community resiliency to disasters by encouraging people to be 2 Weeks Ready. Kiana holds a bachelor’s degree in International Rescue and Relief from Union College and a master’s degree in Public Health.